Editorial Team


All articles published in Canadian Eye Care Today are peer-reviewed by at least two members of the Editorial Board in a single-anonymized process. This means that while the reviewers will know who the author is, the reviewers' comments will be anonymized and the author will not know who the reviwers are before publication.

The editorial team reviews all submitted manuscripts for alignment with Canadian Eye Care Today's aims and scope as well as its publication criteria. Articles must fully comply with the journal's ethical policies to be considered for publication.

Canadian Eye Care Today welcomes submissions from members of the Canadian medical community. The editorial team may on occasion solicit manuscripts from authors on specific topics of interest, in line with the editorial direction of a given issue.

Editorial Board

The Editorial Board is comprised of established clinicians with extensive experience in the field of opthalmology. Members the Editorial Board are selected to ensure a diversity of opinion and breadth of scope, and are invited at the recommendation of their peers on the basis of deep subject matter expertise and comprehensive publication records in the field.

Members of the Editorial Board assist in determining the direction of the journal and will evaluate the scientific content and quality of all manuscripts in a single-anonymized peer review process.

Editorial Board members shall disclose any relationships or activities that may bias their review of a manuscript and shall recuse themselves from reviews or editorial decisions that pose a potential conflict of interest.

Dr. Clara Chan

Clara C. Chan

Dr. Chan is an Associate Professor of Ophthalmology at the University of Toronto and the President of the Canadian Cornea Society. She completed her undergraduate degree at Stanford University, medical school at Queen’s University, ophthalmology residency at the University of Toronto, and her cornea fellowship with Ed Holland at the Cincinnati Eye Institute. She currently teaches fellows as part of the Toronto Cornea fellowship program and is the Medical Director of the Eye Bank of Canada, Ontario Division. She has published more than 140 peer-reviewed papers, received the American Academy of Ophthalmology Achievement Award in 2015, served on the Cornea Clinical Committee of the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons, and is currently a Cornea Section Editor for the Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology and the Cornea Editor Emeritus for Eyeworld magazine. Most recently, Dr. Chan was included in the 2021 Ophthalmologist Power List, recognizing the top 100 most influential global female figures in ophthalmology as well as the 2023 Ophthalmologist Power List, recognizing the top 100 ophthalmologists internationally who have demonstrated 10 years of excellence and impact in the field.

Dr. Rishi Gupta

R. Rishi Gupta

Dr. R. Rishi Gupta is an Associate Professor and Vitreoretinal Specialist in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia. He attended medical school at the University of Toronto, completed his Ophthalmology residency training at the University of Ottawa, and received his Vitreoretinal Fellowship from McGill University. Dr. Gupta actively participates in research and has over 50 publications in prominent peer-reviewed journals. He has received awards for his work in medical education, research, teaching, as well as excellence in patient care. Dr. Gupta’s recently published book, Reflections of a Pupil, was named one of the top must-have books for beginning ophthalmologists and has become required reading in some residency programs.

Dr. Hady Saheb

Hady Saheb

Hady Saheb, MD, MPH, is currently Director of the Glaucoma Fellowship Program at McGill University. He is also Board Member of the Canadian Ophthalmology Society (COS), and Chair of the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Council of the COS, and Treasurer for the Canadian Glaucoma Society (CGS).

Dr. Saheb earned his medical degree and completed his residency at McGill University. He was then a glaucoma fellow at the Bascom Palmer Eye Institute in Miami, and subsequently completed a second fellowship in Novel Glaucoma Surgical Devices and Complex Anterior Segment Surgery with Dr Ike Ahmed at the University of Toronto. He also completed a Masters in Public Health at the Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health in Baltimore, with an interest in Clinical Trials and Health Leadership. Dr. Saheb is passionate about innovation and education and has received several awards, published peer-reviewed publications, book chapters, and spoken at multiple national and international meetings.

Journal Management

Canadian Eye Care Today is published by Catalytic Health, an independent Toronto-based medical communications agency and publisher of open access journals for various medical specialties. Its editorial staff includes more than 20 full- and part-time scientific editorial support staff and medical education professionals. To learn more, please visit catalytichealth.com.

Managing Editor

Rohit Khanna

Associate Editor

Katherine Brenders

Contact the Publisher

Email: info@catalytichealth.com
7717 Ninth Line, Markham, ON